Meet Alisa

Alisa of M Wife Life

Hello my dear!

Let me start by sharing a little bit about myself. Here are 10 things you may not know about me.

  1. I was born in St. Petersburg, Russia – a part of my heart is still there and I can’t wait until my next visit. Growing up my siblings, my mom, and I would visit every couple years – see all the grandparents and extended family as well as visit the beautiful city and our grandparents’ cottages.
  2. I play two instruments: piano and violin. Although I’m no longer in a band (school or synagogue) I still like to pick up the instruments and improvise.
  3. When I was little, my mom wanted me to go to dancing lessons. However, I was a shy kid and dug my heels in, refusing to go. This has been my biggest regret in life so far. I took a beginner ballet class in my teens but it will never replace those years I could’ve been a dancer.
  4. I am a shy extrovert. I love being around people, like coffee shops, or conferences. However, when it comes time to interact and have a conversation I become tongue-tied and stay quiet. Over the years I have gotten better but it’s still a huge stumbling block when meeting new people.
  5. Like Julia Child, I love to eat, especially anything with butter. I watched the movie “Julie and Julia” in the theater years ago and have been in love with cooking and eating ever since. Sometimes I like to wear fancy clothes and heels and pretend I’m like Julia in the kitchen.
  6. I learned how to fold clothes on my own, the Konmari method before it became all the craze. One day I simply picked up a book at the library about organization at home, learned the technique and started folding. I took all the clothes and linens in the house and folded for hours until my arms hurt and everything in the house was folded or hanging.
  7. I did two exchanges during my years in university: one to Chambery, France and one to Lausanne, Switzerland. Both times were to learn French. Thankfully these experiences paid off because as a teacher I still get asked by other Francophone teachers where I am from because I have a French accent.
  8. I am a French and English teacher in Canada. I started my career teaching at the elementary school level in a French Immersion school, meaning that I teach all the subjects, except Math, in French. After teaching grades 2-8, I decided I wanted to try the high school level (what I actually studied for). I got into grade 9 French Immersion. Now I teach French on a Military base to members of the Canadian Armed Forces.
  9. I am married to a Canadian Air Force man. I couldn’t be more proud of seeing my hubby wear the uniform. Plus being among all the military members on a daily basis is such an honour.

There you go. Now you know a little about me. To know more about my story on how I simplified my life and overcame overwhelm and stress at home, take a look at it here:

Adulting is hard and sometimes just plain overwhelming

If you are looking to simplify meal prep and start eating better at home, check this out:

Free 5-Day Meal Prep Challenge

White plate with steak and vegetables

Let’s keep in touch

If you wanna stick around come hang out with me on Instagram, I post regularly about my life and tips for simplifying this crazy complex world.

Or even better, sign up below for my newsletter. I send out weekly words of encouragement and tips for your life at home.

Send me the good stuff, Alisa! Here’s my info:

* indicates required